Great British designers among record entries for Archiprix International prize


Archiprix international hosts its global biannual architecture competition, the event which is supported by Hunter Douglas has been going since 2001 and has been entered by more than 800 universities. This year a total of 470 aspiring architects have submitted 380 entries all hopefully of receiving the prestigious Hunter Douglas award.

The best graduation project will be selected on the 10 of February 2017 at the CEPT University in Ahmedabad India. The lucky winning architect will also earn a spot on a Masters program to further their education.

Among the worldwide entries their have been four from English universities these are Ekin Turgay from the School of Architecture and Design from the University of Brighton; Panagiotis Demiris, from the Architectural Association School of Architecture; Kit Wong from Norwich University of the Arts; and Matthew Pearson from the University of Sheffield’s School of Architecture.

Alongside a 5 submissions from 7 Scottish students They are: Janis Vilcins from the Faculty of Design Scott Sutherland School of Architecture at Robert Gordon University; a joint submission from Samantha Harrison, Elena Sorokina and Bradley Krom from the Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture at the University of Edinburgh; Christine Halliday from the Department of Architecture at the University of Strathclyde; and Rory More from the Mackintosh School of Architecture at the University of Glasgow.

And finally a submission by Mohammed Awadalla, who studies at The Welsh School of Architecture at the University of Cardiff, completes the Great British entries.

The entries will all appear in front of an international judging panel, which is chaired by Bimal Patel president of the CEPT University in Ahmedabad where the reveal will take place. Bimal is also an architect at HCP Design Planning and management.

For more information visit

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *